Our History

In the mid-1990’s, Stan Hagen began a dialogue with the Vancouver Foundation.  As a result, an application for incorporation was submitted in early 1996.  Established with a board of 17 directors, each serving a term of three years to a maximum of two consecutive terms “The Comox Valley Community Foundation” was founded.  Founding directors of the Foundation were:  Stan Hagen, Dr. Robert Clarke, Judith Harder, Pat Brandon, Arthur Meyers, Bill Burns, Marc L. Paradis, Peggy Carswell, Murray Presley, Peter Doherty, Richard Swift, Marie Gordon, Dick Graham, Maudie Hobson, April Shopland, Norm Leung and Liz Phillipson.

Throughout our history, the Comox Valley Community Foundation has had a strong relationship with the Vancouver Foundation.  With CVCF’s inception the founding directors established an endowment fund with the Vancouver Foundation.  The Comox Valley Community Foundation Endowment Fund was established with an initial capital gift of $10,700 and a $10,000 matching contribution from the Vancouver Foundation.  These funds were raised as part of the Foundation’s community celebration and official launch on November 13th, 1996.  For the next two years any funds donated to the Comox Valley Community Foundation Endowment Fund would be matched dollar for dollar up to $50,000 per year.

In addition the Vancouver Foundation holds and administers the Robert and Florence Filberg Fund.  Each year the Comox Valley Community Foundation receives income from the fund to support its community grant making activities.

This is box title
The Comox Valley Community Foundation has a rich history of committed community members who have volunteered their time, professional expertise and passion for creating a smart and caring Comox Valley. Over the years, 75 community-minded individuals have served as Board members and contributed to the current success of the Comox Valley Community Foundation